Siquijor, The Marine Paradise of Central Visayas - Explore the Wonders! - Siquijor Islands Philippines

Siquijor Islands Philippines - Siquijor Geography - Siquijor Getting Here - Siquijor Historical Attractions - Siquijor History -
Siquijor Man-Made Attractions - Siquijor Population - Siquijor Religous Attractions - Siquijor Festivals - Siquijor Hotels - Siquijor Resorts
- Siquijor Special Interest - Siquijor Tourism Destination - Siquijor Caves

Siquijor Islands Philippines
"The Marine Paradise of Central Visayas"

Very little is known about Siquijor and its inhabitants before the arrival of the Spaniards in the 16th Century. During its occupation, however, caves in the island yielded old China wares that imply earlier encounters with Chinese traders. The original inhabitants called “Siquijodnons” came from Cebu, Bohol and other adjacent islands. The native name was “Katugasan” derived from the molave tree that covers the hills. The Spaniards, however, called it Isla de Fuego or Island of Fire because of the swarms of fireflies found in the island.

Esteban Rodriguez of the Legazpi Expedition in 1565 led the first Spaniards who first landed on the island. He was captain of a small party that left Legazpi’s camp in Bohol to explore the nearby islands that are now known as Pamilacan, Siquijor and Negros.

Founded in 1783 under the administration of secular clergymen, Siquijor became the first municipality as well as the first parish to be established on the island under the Cebu Diocese. Administratively, however, Siquijor was under the Bohol province. The first Augustinian Recollect priest, Father Vicente Garcia arrived in Siquijor in 1794 who was later followed by other priests of the same order and founded the parishes of Larena (initially called Can-oan), Lazi (formerly Tigbawan), San Juan (Makalipay), and Maria (Cang-meniao). With the exception of Enrique Villanueva, all of the other five municipalities had been established as parishes by 1877. From 1854 to 1892, Siquijor became part of the province of Negros Oriental, and became a sub-province in 1901.

In 1971, Siquijor became an independent province by virtue of Republic Act No. 6398. The capital was officially transferred from Larena to Siquijor in 1972 through a plebiscite held on November 8, 1971 and confirmed through Proclamation No. 1075.

The Mystic Island of the Philippines, Explore the Wonders! Welcome to Siquijor Islands Philippines!

Return to Top


Breakfast Philippines Cuisine

A traditional Filipino breakfast might include pandesal (small bread rolls), kesong puti (white cheese), champorado (chocolate rice porridge), sinangag (garlic fried rice), and meat—such as tapa, longganisa, tocino, karne norte (corned beef), or fish such as daing na bangus (salted and dried milkfish)—or itlog na pula (salted duck eggs). Coffee is also commonly served particularly kapeng barako, a variety of coffee produced in the mountains of Batangas noted for having a strong flavor.

More details at Breakfast Philippines Cuisine

Siquijor, The Marine Paradise of Central Visayas - Explore the Wonders! - Siquijor Islands Philippines

 


Siquijor Islands Philippines - Siquijor Geography - Siquijor Getting Here - Siquijor Historical Attractions - Siquijor History -
Siquijor Man-Made Attractions - Siquijor Population - Siquijor Religous Attractions - Siquijor Festivals - Siquijor Hotels - Siquijor Resorts
- Siquijor Special Interest - Siquijor Tourism Destination - Siquijor Caves


Fly Philippines - Philippine Beach Hotels and Resorts Reservations
Guide to beach hotels and resorts Bohol, Boracay, Cebu, Palawan, and other Philippine hotels, providing discounted room rates and travel packages in Philippines. Book online and reserve your accommodations for your coming Philippines travel.

While we strive to present information as accurately as possible,
We are not responsible for any mistakes in information materials, written or any other kind.
All Rights Reserved. Islands Philippines © Copyright -

Managed by: Dotnet Business Online Inc.